A prayer that still comes to mind all these years later . . .
YEARS ago, when I was an undergraduate at Mississippi State University, I sporadically attended a local church–usually due to the promptings of my roommate. One Sunday during the Christmas season, an older lady came to me and handed me a small bundle of goodies–something they regularly did for college students. One of the items was a booklet that told the Christmas story. On the back page was this prayer. I copied it into a notebook, and since then it has moved with me to different states and traveled with me around the world. Several lines were particularly powerful to me at the time and have come to my mind numerous times over the years.

Dear Lord, Please Give Me…

 A few friends who understand me and yet remain my friends,

A work to do which has real value, without which the world would feel poorer…

A mind unafraid of travel, even though the trail be not blazed,

An understanding heart,

A sense of humor,

Time for quiet, silent meditation,

A feeling of the presence of God.

And the patience to wait for the coming of these things,

with the wisdom to know them when they come.

–W.R. Hunt

originally published Jan 2013

2 thoughts on “A New Year’s Prayer

  1. Thanks for the comment! I actually was reading something on your site a couple of days ago. Passion to live…yes! I’m working on another post with this theme as we speak. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Jenny the broom wielder – that’d stick coz that’s when we first talked; with you in action sweeping up after The Group! I’m glad to see your lovely blog. such a sweet simplicity here. thanks for this prayer. love it. And would you believe it? my blog is To Really Live. yes, we share a passion to live!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

