(based on 1 Corinthians 13)

If I speak with love and kindness to strangers and friends, but do not speak those same sweet words to my own children, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal.

If I mentor and disciple every friend who questions, and if I unveil the loveliness of Jesus to co-workers and walk in great faith among my church peers, but do not take time to discover Jesus with my children and stand in faith with them, I am nothing.

If I serve the needy and sacrifice everything for ministry and acts of kindness, but I do not serve my own children and display how Jesus came to serve, then I gain nothing.

A Mother’s love is patient.

A Mother’s love is kind.

Her love does not envy the lives of those around her,
Her love does not boast in her accomplishments, and it  is not conceited.

A Mother’s love does not act improperly.
A Mother’s love is not selfish.

Her love is not provoked by her children’s misbehavior,
and it does not keep a record of their wrongs.

A Mother’s love finds no joy in unrighteousness
but rejoices in the truth.

A Mother’s love bears all things, believes all things,
hopes all things, endures all things.

 

—-

I searched a bit and found another mom moved by this chapter:

A Mother’s Version of 1 Corinthians 13

2 thoughts on “A Mother’s Love

I'd love to hear from you!

