Growing up I had several pictures in my room that contained sayings or phrases. My mom loves just about anything with words on it, and this love was passed down to me. But one little picture has always spoken to me, has always been my favorite.

"Do What you Love"

Given to me when I turned twelve,  the simple phrase it contains has traveled with me for years: “Do What You Love”. There have been many times those words have come to mind, often when I was trying to figure out exactly what to do. Words have power. Proverbs 16:24 says, Pleasant words are a honeycomb: sweet to the taste and health to the body.” But Proverbs 18:21 makes an even stronger statement about the power of one’s words: “Life and death are in the power of the tongue.” The words we say, hear, and read can be powerful not only to others but also to ourselves.

I want to surround my children with words that edify and pull them to something beyond themselves. So often, I say hurtful things to them–words that do not edify them. Those words hurt them and me. So where I often fail at providing the perfect words to steer my children in the way they should go, I hope to surround them with words of life that taste sweet and bring health to their growing souls.

I’ve found lists of phrases for parents to use with their kids. They include phrases ranging from “I need your help” to “I believe in you”. And these lists are great reminders for me to speak life to my children. But I also like words on the walls of my house. Words that encourage. Now, only one of my three children can read at the moment, but I know that will change quickly. Here are a few of my favorite picks for words I’d like on their walls—words I’d like them to read over and over and over again as they grow up.

plans to prosper you
Personalized Custom Typography Sign from creativecatt on etsy
for my girls' room
Worth More than Rubies (from Prov. 31)

Hope you enjoy them as much as I do. My goal is to make my own versions of these and customize them for each of my children’s bedrooms.

Have a great weekend!!

I'd love to hear from you!

